

NSB-10-14 February 12, 2010

## MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

**SUBJECT:** Major Actions and Approvals at the February 3-4, 2010 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (<a href="http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/">http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/</a>). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the February 2010 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the May 2010 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 413th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- 1. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award for IceCube maintenance and operations 2010, University of Wisconsin Madison.
- 2. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award for an increase in the contract ceiling for the NSF contract with CH2M Hill for Arctic logistics in support of research.
- 3. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award for final preconstruction activities for the National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) Project, NEON, Inc.
- 4. The Board approved the recipient for the 2010 Alan T. Waterman Award. The name of the awardee will be announced after he/she has been notified.
- 5. The Board approved the revised charge to the Expert Panel Discussion on Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Innovators, extending the final NSB approval date for the report to May 2010, with publication of the report by the summer of 2010.
- 6. The Board elected the following Board Members to the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, informally known as the Elections Committee: Dr. Leshner, chairman, and Drs. Droegemeier, Gulari, and Randall members.
- 7. The Board Chairman established the Task Force on Merit Review: Dr. Leshner, chairman, and Drs. Bowen, Bruer, Gulari, Lanzerotti, Randall, Souvaine, and Taylor members.

- 8. The Board Chairman established the CSB Task Force on Data Policies: Dr. Griffiths, chairman, and Drs. Abbott, Benbow, Peterson, Reilly, Souvaine, and Taylor members.
- 9. The Board Chairman established the CPP Task Force on Support of Mid-Scale and Multi-Investigator Research: Dr. Droegemeier, chairman, with members to be determined.
- 10. The Board Chairman discharged the CPP Task Force on Sustainable Energy with thanks to Drs. Arvizu and Strauss, co-chairmen, and Drs. Abbott, Benbow, Bruer, Griffiths, Hoffman, Randall, and Mr. Reilly, members.
- 11. The Board Chairman discharged the CSB Task Force on Cost Sharing with thanks to Dr. Droegemeier, chairman, and Drs. Abbott, Benbow, Strauss, Taylor, and Thompson, members.
- 12. The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (NSB-09-102) for the December 2009 meeting (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2009/1209/minutes.pdf). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed (NSB-09-100) and Closed (NSB-09-101) Sessions for the December 2009 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 13. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming May 4-5, 2010 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets, honorary awards; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2010/0504/closing.pdf) (NSB-10-9).

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer