

NSB-10-28 May 6, 2010 Revised May 10, 2010

## MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

**SUBJECT:** Major Actions and Approvals at the May 4-5, 2010 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (<a href="http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/">http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/</a>). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the May 2010 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the August 2010 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 414th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- 1. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award for Hawaii Competes: Connecting Hawaii to the National Cyberinfrastructure, University of Hawaii.
- 2. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an Award for the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) Wyoming Supercomputer Center Construction Project, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR).
- 3. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an Award for Construction of the National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON).
- 4. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make awards for support of seven FY 2010 Research Infrastructure Improvement Program (RII) Track-1 Awards from the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) for the following jurisdictions: Arkansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia.
- 5. Dr. Bowen was elected to a 2-year term as Chairman of the Board, and Dr. Gulari was elected to a 2-year term as Vice Chairman. Drs. Bowen and Gulari were elected by acclamation to 2-year terms as members of the Executive Committee.
- 6. The Board accepted the 2009 Annual Report of the Executive Committee as presented by the committee chairman, Dr. Bement, NSF Director (NSB/EC-10-4) (Attachment).
- 7. The Board approved the "Next Generation of STEM Innovators" White Paper, subject to final edits by the Board Chairman and the chairman of the Committee on Education and Human Resources.

- 8. The Board approved the Indicators Education Tool, subject to final edits by the Board Chairman and the chairman of the Committee on Science and Engineering Indicators.
- 9. The Board approved the charge and workplan for the Task Force on Merit Review.
- 10. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, informally known as the Elections Committee, with thanks to Dr. Leshner, chairman, and Drs. Droegemeier, Gulari, and Randall, members.
- 11. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Honorary Awards with thanks to Dr. Bowen, chairman, and Drs. Randall and Taylor, members.
- 12. The Board approved the transmittal letter and management response for the NSF Office of Inspector General's *Semiannual Report to Congress*, *March 2010*.
- 13. The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (NSB-10-18) for the February 2010 meeting (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2010/0203/minutes.pdf). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed (NSB-10-16) and Plenary Closed (NSB-10-17) Sessions for the February 2010 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 14. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming August 25-26, 2010 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets, honorary awards; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2010/0825/closing.pdf) (NSB-10-22).

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer

## 2009 Annual Report of the Executive Committee National Science Board

In accordance with the requirements of 42 U.S.C. § 1865 (d), I hereby submit this annual report of the National Science Board (Board, NSB) Executive Committee, as approved at the Executive Committee meeting on May 4, 2010. This report covers the period from May 2009 through April 2010. I served as Director of the National Science Foundation and the Board's Executive Committee chairman during the above time period.

The elected Board membership of the Executive Committee during the past year was as follows:

Dr. Steven C. Beering

Dr. Patricia D. Galloway

Dr. Camilla P. Benbow

Dr. Ray M. Bowen

Dr. Clifford J. Gabriel, acting Executive Officer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences Directorate, served as Executive Secretary of the Executive Committee during this time period.

The Executive Committee met 7 times during this period (May 2009, September 2009, October 2009, November 2009, December 2009, and February 2010). The September meeting was held in Columbus, Ohio and was chaired by acting Deputy Director Dr. Cora Marrett. The remaining meetings were held at the National Science Foundation in Arlington, Virginia. Oral reports of its activities were made at meetings of the full Board and are reflected in the minutes of those meetings. The October and November meetings were closed sessions held by teleconferences.

The Executive Committee's powers and functions are based on a delegation of authority to it by the Board according to 42 U.S.C. § 1865(a). The Board's current delegation to the Executive Committee (Attachment B to NSB-99-158) authorizes the Executive Committee to approve awards on behalf of the Board when an immediate decision is required between Board meetings and when the necessary action is not within the authority of the Director of the National Science Foundation. The Executive Committee did not act on behalf of the Board during this reporting period.

/s/

Arden L. Bement, Jr. Chairman Executive Committee