

NSB-11-36 May 12, 2011

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the May 10-11, 2011 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the May 2011 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the July 2011 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 419th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- 1. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS) for renewed support of the seismology facilities and programs operated by IRIS. (NSB-11-28)
- 2. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Michigan State University for support of the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL). (NSB-11-29)
- 3. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign for support of *XSEDE: eXtreme Science and Engineering Discovery Environment.* (NSB-11-30)
- 4. Drs. Droegemeier and Souvaine were elected to 2-year terms, May 2011 May 2013, as members of the Executive Committee.
- 5. The Board accepted the 2010 Annual Report of the Executive Committee as presented by the committee chairman, Dr. Suresh, NSF Director (NSB/EC-11-3).
- 6. The Board approved forwarding the STEM Education Priority Action Items List to the NSF Director for his consideration.
- 7. The Board approved the release of the revised Merit Review Principles and Review Criteria for broader discussion inside and outside of NSF.
- 8. The Board approved the transmittal letter and management response for the NSF Office of Inspector General, *Semiannual Report to Congress, March 2011*.

- 9. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Honorary Awards with thanks to Dr. Córdova, chairman, and Drs. Peterson and Thompson, members.
- 10. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections (Elections Committee), with thanks to Dr. Gulari, chairman, and Drs. Córdova and Randall, members.
- 11. The Board Chairman established the *ad hoc* Committee on NSB Nominations for the Class of 2012 2018 (Nominations Committee) with Dr. Droegemeier, chairman, and Drs. Córdova, Peterson, and Randall, members.
- 12. The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (NSB-11-19) for the February 2011 meeting (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2011/0215/minutes.pdf). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed (NSB-11-17) and Plenary Closed Sessions (NSB-11-18) for the February 2011 meeting of the Board were also approved.

[signed]
Michael L. Van Woert
Executive Officer