

<u>NSB-14-13</u> March 4, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the February 25-26, 2014 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/</u>). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the February 2014 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval.

Major actions and approvals at the 435th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- 1. The Board approved the recipient of the 2014 Alan T. Waterman Award. The name of the awardee will be revealed in a public announcement in the spring.
- 2. The Board elected the following Board Members to the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, informally called the Elections Committee: Dr. Randall, chairman, and Drs. Bassler, Bowen, and Cerf, members.
- 3. The Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominations for the NSB Class of 2014 2020, with thanks to Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, chairman and committee members Drs. Bassler, Bowen, David, Lineberger, Randall, Sargent, and Stancell.
- The Board approved the NSB Annual Portfolio Review of Facilities FY 2013 (<u>NSB/CSB/SCF-13-7</u>) from the Subcommittee on Facilities (SCF), Committee on Strategy and Budget (CSB), subject to final edits by the SCF chairman, CSB chairman, and the Board Chairman.
- 5. The Board approved the report, *Reducing Investigator's Administrative Workload for Federally Funded Research* (<u>NSB/AB-14/3</u>), from the Task Force on Administrative Burdens (AB), subject to final edits by the AB chairman and the Board Chairman.
- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the November 2013 meeting (<u>NSB-13-70</u>) <u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2013/1121/minutes.pdf</u>. Also approved were the Board minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed (<u>NSB-13-68</u>) and Plenary Closed Sessions (<u>NSB-13-69</u>) for the November 2013 meeting.

[signed] Michael L. Van Woert Executive Officer