

NSB-14-27 May 12, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the May 6-7, 2014 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the May 2014 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the August 2014 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 436th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- a. The Board authorized the NSF Deputy Director, at her discretion, to make an award for the construction of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST).
- b. The Board approved the recommendations to the *NSB Annual Portfolio Review of Facilities FY 2013* (NSB-13-72) from the Committee on Strategy and Budget (CSB) and the CSB Subcommittee on Facilities (SCF).
- c. Dr. Dan Arvizu was re-elected to a 2-year term as Chairman of the Board, and Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier was re-elected to a 2-year term as Vice Chairman. Drs. Arvizu and Droegemeier were also re-elected to 2-year terms as members of the Executive Committee.
- d. The Board accepted the 2013 Annual Report of the Executive Committee (NSB/EC-14-1) as presented by the committee chairman, Dr. France Córdova, NSF Director.
- e. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Honorary Awards with thanks to Dr. Ruth David, chairman, and Drs. Stephen Mayo and Douglas Randall, members.
- f. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections (Elections Committee), with thanks to Dr. Douglas Randall, chairman, and Drs. Bonnie Bassler, Ray Bowen, and Vinton Cerf, members.
- g. The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (NSB-14-17) for the February 2014 meeting (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2014/0225/minutes.pdf). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed (NSB-14-15) and Plenary Closed Sessions (NSB-14-16) for the February 2014 meeting of the Board were also approved.

[signed]
Michael L. Van Woert
Executive Officer